I like doing dishes

Like all graduate students, I lived with a sink-full of dishes. Somewhere down the line of my cooking evolution, I came to the conclusion.

“Cooking ain’t done until the dishes are” – Moi.

I remember wanting to finish up dishes before dinner with my friends trying to persuade me to come and join them, that we’ll all finish up later. With my insisting that everyone get started and their insisting that I should join them…this continued into my marriage, and again, I reverted to sink-full of dishes. Only, with more extensive cooking, it also extended to counters-full of dirty dishes. Urgh!

 

I never did like doing dishes, which was why I wanted to get it out of the way before I sat down to enjoy the fruits of my labor.

 

The transformation came suddenly. Was it when my husband told me about zen, the art of living in the moment. To enjoy the journey as much as the destination? Was it when I realized that I love clean sinks better than I hate doing dishes? Or when I found out that if I HAVE to do something anyway, I might as well enjoy doing it? Regardless, I slowly fell in love with it.

 

Now, I think I enjoy the moments I have absolutely to myself. I even enjoy the feel of clean clothes. Putting away laundry. What’s a PhD doing enjoying household work, you ask? Why go through life hating what needs to be done! I can hate it. I can enjoy it. The choice is clear.

 

I do hate decluttering and making the bed, however. It gives me anxiety attacks. I have a task force for those tasks. I call him my husband.

 

PS: If you ever find yourself wanting to quote me, please do cite me and leave a comment saying that you did. I am not looking for any compensation whatsoever, but it is nice to know that I helped convert anyone’s journey through formerly detestable tasks down happier paths.
4 thoughts on “I like doing dishes

  1. S, you might be interested in reading a book called Radical Homemakers by Shannon Hayes. Definitely check out the excerpt on Amazon. I haven’t finished it yet, but some of the ideas you’ve been sharing remind me of the author’s journey of self-discovery. If you decide to read it, I’d love to discuss it with you. Anyway, it’s been a long time since we’ve seen each other. 🙂

  2. I just ordered a book last night- Under pressure: Putting the child back into childhood. It is all about slowing down. I always feel like our parents’ generation is the middle generation where lives sped up. The pressure on them to yield highly (academically) successful children was high. As soon as my brother got into IIT, my aunt started telling her daughter that she HAD to get in too. Which would be fair enough, if the girl was at least 5 years old by then!Our generation saw the high stress of our parents’ lifestyles, and is slowly turning away from it.Feminists fought for the right to be in the workforce and to be compensated on par with men. I am grateful to them for it. Unfortunately for most women, it only resulted in having to become "super mom"s. Say what you will about it, but I have no desire to be one. Age faster? Thanks, but no thanks. I would rather have some time to listen to the thoughts in my head. To sit down with a cup of tea. To hear the bee buzz, to hear the cricket sing.I’ll read the Carl Honore one first, and then exchange books?

  3. Unfortunately, I'm one of those Kindle people, so I can't loan you my book (this title is not lending enabled). But I'd be interested in reading Under Pressure when you're done, if you wouldn't mind lending it to me, anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

