Confessions of a tweenage cloth diapering mom

Disclaimer: The word tween refers loosely to Tolkien’s definition, not the American one.

Remember those childhood days when you bought something you really liked, only to like your friend’s or classmate’s one a lot more? Little classroom envies? If you never did, you’re a better person than I am. If you are like most of the rest of us though, you know what I mean. I thought I had grown out of consumer product envy by now. House envy, seeing cleaner, more spruced up interiors? Sure. But consumer products? No. Or so I have been smugly thinking. Only to be jerked awake to my foible this very morning.

M and I go to Mother Goose Rhyme Time at our library. For the first time today, we met a baby younger than her. Now, I love the no-fuss organic cotton prefolds I use on her. Yet, when I saw this baby with a young mom in neat little snap-in diapers, the kind that won’t bunch up when baby kicks and rolls and flails around – my only complaint with her prefolds, I was struck by a classic case of diaper envy. There. I’ve said it. Ridiculous as it may sound. Nay, does sound. The confession is out there.
I spent the day brooding, among other things – I could have made a better choice for M. I failed her. I could have made her more comfortable. Then, as I was hanging up her prefolds to dry, I realized – the most crucial part of our cloth diapering methods – cleaning and drying. The snap in is so thick, it’ll take too much time to air dry. It dawned on me that our decision is right for us and our quirky little air drying sun bleaching ways.
Now if only, I’d just grow up and remove envy from my range of emotions already! Yoga. Should master my emotions, shouldn’t let emotions master me. Become a yogini.

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

Lao-tzu, The Way of Lao-tzu
Chinese philosopher (604 BC – 531 BC)

Source: http://www.quotationspage.com/quote/24004.html

Leave a Reply

