Beauty is but skin deep

Ask R what it is like, shopping for anything that needs ingredient listings with his wife. He’ll advise you never to marry a chemist. She’ll suck the fun out of trying out various nice tasting (non-)foods and nice smelling (non-)self-care products. She’ll only shop around the periphery of the grocery store, for that’s where they keep the produce, the dairy, and other real foods. If she has to enter an aisle even for laundry detergent, she’ll spend ages reading ingredient listings and dropping products because of an offensive ingredient.

 

I remember discussing with someone in my very first year of living in the US about reading nutrition information and how I wouldn’t care about it ever. I do now. Not, as one would think, because I want to know about the calorie information, but because I want none of the non-foods masquerading as foods in my and my family’s diet. I’ll take the higher calorie, closest to nature alternative over lower calorie processed ones. I’ll eat less, but give me natural, any time. I’ll spend enormous amounts of time to find a self-care product with minimal offensive (to me) ingredients. I am not telling anyone how to live their lives, nor am I claiming to follow my own policies all the time. I encourage everyone to try their best to do what they think is best for them and their family. I fall off my own bandwagon more often than I care to remember about. Yet, isn’t that what being human is all about? Try, try, for improvement.

 

Organic is high on my list, but that isn’t what I am writing about. Perhaps later.

 

I NEED a moisturizer. Yet, given that it is meant to be absorbed into my skin, I don’t like the fact that most brands and kinds that don’t gross me out by their greasiness have a million suspect ingredients. I also hate standing in an aisle and having to read ingredients on so many products. I found this website yesterday. A blessing, a boon.

 

http://www.cosmeticsdatabase.com/

 

As mother told me when I was little, don’t trust strangers. I don’t know how trustworthy they are and with all their well-intentioned research, how good it is. Yet, my quest for information is one step closer to satisfaction. I can now find ingredients in several products, all in one place; I can find the best handful of products (to my mind), and go about hunting them out, instead of standing in an aisle. What I hate most about shopping.

 

-Soap nut nut.

Leave a Reply

